January 14, 2021

The Honorable Adrienne A. Jones House Speaker Maryland State House, H-101 State Circle Annapolis, MD 21401

The Honorable Nicholaus R. Kipke House Minority Leader House Office Building, Room 212 6 Bladen Street Annapolis, MD 21401 The Honorable Bill Ferguson President of the Senate Maryland State House, H-107 State Circle Annapolis, MD 21401

The Honorable Bryan W. Simonaire Senate Minority Leader James Senate Office Building, Room 320 11 Bladen Street Annapolis, MD 21401

Re: Support for Veto Override of HB 1236

Dear Speaker Jones, President Ferguson, and Minority Leaders Kipke and Simonaire:

The undersigned elected officials, businesses, business organizations, labor unions, and advocates **urge your support to override the veto for HB 1236**, a bipartisan bill passed by the General Assembly that can be a key piece to our recovery in the near-term and for generations to come.

HB 1236 will enhance the economic competitiveness of the State of Maryland, deepen access to labor pools for employers and affordable housing options for residents, and reduce congestion on our clogged roadway network. This bill will begin to implement the MARC Cornerstone Plan through three initiatives of statewide importance, including: (1) a plan to pilot an extension of MARC trains beyond Union Station to L'Enfant Plaza, Crystal City and Alexandria; (2) a plan to close the gap between Perryville, Maryland and Newark, Delaware—opening job opportunities for residents in Cecil and Harford counties in Maryland, Delaware and Pennsylvania; and (3) a concept plan to connect the Penn Line and the Camden Line to enhance these lines' resiliency and improve operations and maintenance.

We appreciate Maryland's current fiscal challenges, but we strongly believe the pilots and studies in HB 1236 will generate returns on investments that far exceed the relatively small upfront investment and will position the region to emerge from the pandemic, and future economic recessions, even stronger. Therefore, we urge your favorable support of this important piece of legislation.

Sincerely,

Angela D. Alsobrooks County Executive Prince George's County

Marc Elrich County Executive Montgomery County

Dannielle M. Glaros Councilmember Prince George's County Ryan Dorsey Councilmember Baltimore City

Andrew Friedson Councilmember Montgomery County

Evan Glass Councilmember Montgomery County Tom Hucker Councilmember Montgomery County

Steuart Pittman, Jr. County Executive Anne Arundel County

Brandon M. Scott Mayor Baltimore City Nick J. Mosby Council President Baltimore City

Hans Reimer Councilmember Montgomery County

Patrick L. Wojahn Mayor City of College Park

2030 Group Baltimore-DC Metro Building Trades Council Brotherhood of Locomotive Engineers & Trainmen – District of Columbia (BLET-DC) City of College Park Coalition for Smarter Growth Economic Alliance of Greater Baltimore Friends of White Flint Greater Washington Partnership JBG SMITH Maryland Sierra Club Maryland State and D.C. AFL-CIO Montgomery County Chamber of Commerce National Landing Business Improvement District Prince George's Chamber of Commerce **Rail Passengers Association SMART-TD** Maryland Town of Riverdale Park

CC: The Honorable Jared Solomon The Honorable Kumar P. Barve The Honorable Guy J. Guzzone Gregory Slater, Maryland Secretary of Transportation