MEDIA ADVISORY - Montgomery County to Celebrate Business Leadership at the MCCC 56th Annual Dinner

June 24, 2015

June 24, 2015
Contact:  Michelle Guzman
301-738-0015 or

Montgomery County to Celebrate Business Leadership
at the MCCC 56th Annual Dinner

-Newly elected Board Leadership to be sworn in
-Senator Ben Cardin, NOAA, Thomas J. McElroy of HUGHES an EchoStar Company,
and Steven A. Robins of Lerch, Early & Brewer, Chtd  to receive awards

Rockville, MD – On Thursday, June 25, 2015, the Montgomery County Chamber of Commerce (MCCC) will host its 56th Annual Dinner to celebrate the extraordinary talents and organizations that are leading change for MCCC members, our region, and our nation.

During the ceremony, MCCC’s newly elected Board of Directors will be sworn in and the passing of the torch celebration will welcome the new leadership:

  • Chair: Jerry Shapiro, President, Shapiro & Duncan
  • Chair Elect: Jim Young, Vice President, Corporate Facilities, Services and Real Estate, Marriott International, Inc.
  • Immediate Past Chair: Lisa Cines, Regional Partner, Business Development & Marketing, Dixon Hughes Goodman, LLP

MCCC will also recognize four leaders who make significant contributions to building a strong business environment in Montgomery County and beyond:

  • Legislator of the Year Award Winner: Senator Ben Cardin, U.S. Senator for Maryland
  • Visionary of the Year Award Winner: National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA), accepted by Dr. Kathryn D. Sullivan, Under Secretary of Commerce for Oceans and Atmosphere and NOAA Administrator
  • Business Advocate of the Year Award Winner: Thomas J. McElroy, Senior Vice President & Corporate Controller, HUGHES an EchoStar Company
  • Chairman’s Award Winner: Steven A. Robins, Esq., Partner, Lerch, Early & Brewer, Chtd

What: MCCC 56th Annual Dinner

Who: 750+ business and government leaders, including

  • MCCC Board of Directors and Members
  • Boyd Rutherford, Lieutenant Governor of Maryland
  • Nancy King, Senate Chair, Montgomery County Delegation, Maryland General Assembly
  • Anne Kaiser, House of Delegates, Majority Leader, Maryland General Assembly
  • Isiah “Ike” Leggett, Montgomery County Executive
  • George Leventhal, President, Montgomery County Council

When: Thursday, June 25, 2015
6:00 - 7:00 PM - General Reception
7:00 - 9:00 PM - Dinner and Awards Ceremony

Where: Bethesda North Marriott and County Conference Center - 5701 Marinelli Road, North Bethesda, MD 20852

For press admission or inquiries, please contact Michelle Guzman at or 301-738-0015 x229.


About The Montgomery County Chamber of Commerce: The Montgomery County Chamber of Commerce (MCCC) provides an effective voice for a diverse, innovation-driven economy to ensure business success. Its active membership includes small, medium, and large organizations representing a wide range of businesses and industries. Through effective advocacy, programs and events, MCCC helps its members succeed in business. A non-partisan independent 501(c)(6), the Chamber is separate from any national, state, local chamber or other organization. For more information, visit

MCCC Strategic Partners